Announcing 2013 Scholarship Recipients – Over $80,000 in Funding

EFC and its members are pleased to announce the 2013 Scholarship recipients. Each year, the EFC Scholarship  provides Canadian post-secondary students with funding support for their education. 

Read the  2013 Scholarship brochure  outlining the the 30 organizations supporting this program.35 scholarships were available supported by organizations in the electrical and consumer electronics sectors to assist bright Canadian university and college students achieve their career objectives. The 2014 Scholarship Program will be open for applications in January 2014.

Supporting students for 18 years, the EFC  Scholarship Program encourages Canadian youth to pursue a career in the electrical, electronics, and telecommunications industries. To date, EFC has invested over $600,000 in the post-secondary technical training and education. “The industry is challenged with recruiting talent and meeting succession planning needs. The Scholarship Foundation is focused on improving the availability of talent for its member companies and on creating awareness of the career opportunities within its flourishing industry. It is a conduit to support students and upon graduation from Canadian institutions these students can quickly be choosing lucrative careers in some of Canada’s best managed companies and global powerhouses”, said Tim Horsman, 2013 Chair, EFC Foundation and President, E.B. Horsman & Son.

The EFC  Scholarships are awarded to post-secondary students studying in an electrical or electronics concentration including electrical apprenticeship, electrical engineering technology, electrical technician, electrical engineering, supply chain management or business administration.  Scholarships are also awarded on the basis of academic achievement, areas of study, leadership, and career interests.

2013 Scholarship Recipients

Affiliated Distributors, Electrical Industry Scholarship -$3,500 – Taylor Reinhart, Fanshawe College

Burndy Canada Inc. Academic Achievement Award -$3,500- Matthew Crocker, University of Fraser Valley

Cooper Industries Scholarship Award -$3,500- Bilal Manji, Queen’s University

Eaton Award of Academic Excellence -$3,500– Waheed Zaman, University of Calgary

GE Canada Community Leadership Award -$3,500- Nicole Kai, University of Waterloo

Gerrie Electrical Memorial Scholarship Awards- 2 x $1,750

 Muhammad Raza, Wilfred Laurier University

 Cindy Chen, McMaster University

Graybar Canada Award of Excellence Scholarship -$3,500– Pascale Mailie, University of Sherbrook

Hoffman Enclosures Scholarship Award -$3,500 -Kevin Zhou, University of Western Ontario

HPS Outstanding Electrical Scholars Award -$3,500 – David Drake, McMaster University

Hubbell Canada LP Sustainability Leadership Award -$3,500 -Katelin Spence, University of New Brunswick

I-Gard Corporation Student Merit Award -$5,000 -Cory McGraw, Durham College

OSRAM SYLVANIA Scholastic Achievement Award -$3,500 – Greg Bridges, Carlton University

Philips Lighting Continuing Education Award -$3,500 – Josh Cherun, University of Toronto

RABC Future Leader in Radiocommunications Award -$3,500 -Lahib Haque,University of Ontario Institute of Technology

Schneider Electric Student Merit Award -$5,000 -Justin Huskic, University of Calgary

Siemens Canada Academic Achievement Awards -$3,500 (x2)

Mihai Balan, Durham College

Austin Cousineau, University of Waterloo

Standard Recognition of Excellence Award -$3,500 –Justin Lank, University of Prince Edward Island

Thomas & Betts Scholarship Award -$3.500 – Raha Darvishi, University of British Columbia

WESCO Student Achievement Award -$3,500 -Sukhmani Brar, University of Alberta

EFC University Scholarships -$1,000

Veronica Riehl, Queen’s University

Paul Lakner, Saint Mary’s University

Houtan Emad, University of Victoria

Christian Jegues, University of Manitoba

EFC College Scholarships- $1,000*

Aaron Moore, NBCC Moncton

Lisa Wright, Holland College

Tianna Kassian, Lakeland College

Bryan Jarvis, Durham College


CEMRA Academic Leadership Award -$2,500 Jonah Tremblay, University of New Brunswick

Bob Dyer/OEL Apprentice Scholarship -$500

Josh Campbell, Fanshawe College

David Thomson, Mohawk College

Daniel Barna, Durham College

Richard Carrigan, Durham College

Perry Blanchard, Fanshawe College

Click here to view press release. The EFC Scholarship Foundation thanks Electrical Business, 2013 Media Sponsor.

Apply for 2014 EFC Scholarship Program in January 2014.