EFC Award of Excellence – Pierre Desilets

On October 17th EFC presented the annual Award of Excellence. The award is peer recognition to a member of Electro-Federation Canada who has made an outstanding contribution to the industry in the field of Codes and Standards.  Pierre Desilets was nominated to receive the award for his significant contribution to Codes and Standards and the Electrical Industry over the last 30 years.  Pierre has participated in more than 50 committees at Standards development organizations, including international standards development at the IEC. 

Pierre was recognized with the Award of Merit from CSA Group in 2012 for his outstanding contributions. Pierre has served as the president and treasurer of CANENA, the body responsible for the harmonization of standards in North America. At EFC, Pierre served on EFC’s Technical Advisory Council (ETAC) for over nine years and served four years in Chair positions for both ETAC and the Wiring Supplies Business Section.

A few weeks before Pierre’s passing on September 22, 2023, EFC staff informed him that he had unanimously been nominated by his peers to receive this year’s Award of Excellence. He was both humbled and honoured by the recognition.  Due to his unfortunate passing, the award was accepted on his behalf by Jason Prevost, President of Leviton Canada, and Dip Patel from Leviton.  Also in attendance was Pierre’s wife, brother, colleagues, and ETAC Chairs and Vice Chairs.  

While Pierre will be remembered for his professional achievements and contributions to the electrical industry, to many of us who have worked beside him, he will also be remembered for his passion and presence.  Pierre’s blend of respect, humour, and intelligence made him a force of influence and a trusted advisor to EFC staff, and industry peers. He is missed and will be remembered as a respected colleague and friend.